Whidbey Water Keepers

Whidbey Water Keepers

Island County

Water Resources Advisory Committee

The mission of the Water Resource Advisory Committee (WRAC) is to ensure that the water resources of Island County are managed and protected in such a way as to ensure sustainable use, while protecting habitat, environmental and human health.

There are twelve members on the Water Resource Advisory Committee. Four for each of the county's distinct geographical areas - North Whidbey, Central/South Whidbey, and Camano Island - representing the four water resource interests of Groundwater, Stormwater, Watershed Management and Salmon Recovery.

The Water Resources Advisory Committee was formed by the Board of Island County Commissioners in 1999 to address water resource planning and management. The WRAC was created by sunsetting three previous citizen advisory committees: The Groundwater Advisory Committee, the Stormwater Advisory Committee, and the North Whidbey Watershed Management Advisory Committee. As many of the committees issues overlapped, Island County and Department of Ecology recognized the need to approach water resource protection on a comprehensive basis.

WRAC Members and term expiration dates:

DISTRICT 1 (South/Central Whidbey)
Tom Fox – May 17, 2020
Don Lee, Co-Chair - May 17, 2017
John Lovie - May 17, 2018
Tom Vos - May 17, 2019

DISTRICT 2 (North Whidbey)
Maddie Rose – May 17, 2020
Vacant - May 17, 2017
Al Williams - May 17, 2018
Dave Thomas- May 17, 2019

DISTRICT 3 (Camano Island)
Carol Gillespie - May 17, 2017
Julius Budos, Co-Chair - May 17, 2018
Barbara Brock - May 17, 2019
Jay Lawrence - May 17, 2020